Top 5 Ninja Suits

Evolution of suits throughout the show and where I got my information: http://ninjago.wikia.com/wiki/Types_of_Ninja

Throughout the evolution of the show, each season seems to have a new suit to match what it’s going to be about. We have the simple training gi from the very first pilots to the detailed Fusion robe from Hands of Time. Each signify something, like how the Fusion robes, with the heavy, samurai detail hinting toward the new Samurai X. And if you didn’t know, Samurai did become before ninja, so maybe hinting toward the time blades.

Each gi is unique in its own way, but there are some I’d like to spend some time on. These are my favorites out of the season, and notice that I’m not counting anything from sets. In my opinion, sets are a thin boundary between the show, what actually happened, and the advertisement. So enjoy!

 

 

5. Zen eXtreme Armor

JayZX

Personally, I love the alternating gold and silver shoulder pads. I wouldn’t say that armor on a ninja is exactly culturally accurate, but it looks so great on them! I like how the color is on each part of their clothing their mask, their shirt, and their belt. Season 2 of Ninjago was one of my favorites, and this gi is to match those memories.

 

4.  Tournament

Tournament Robe Kai

I like how this gi is similar to the one in Rebooted, but re-designed in a new way. I like the bandana sort of style, and how they are sleeveless. This allows them more free movement for fighting and for their clothes not to get too sweaty. It matches the fast-paced, summer island theme that took place in the fourth season, and the designers couldn’t have done it better.

3. Destiny

3ColeSkybound

One of the most disliked seasons of Ninjago (by fan popularity, not mine), the outfit is perfect for the season. They earned these suits after learning Airjitzu, and I remember back in day I would try to theorize what the animals on the shirt meant. In the end, it meant nothing, but it’s something more than being just a dragon. I also like the gold plating on the shoulder (Cole doesn’t have one), similar to what they had in Season 5 but more light weighed. Each color chosen fits well with the ninja’s elemental power, with Kai’s, Cole’s, and Lloyd’s being gold and the rest being blue.

 

Zane

2. Deepstone

This heavy armor to protect ghosts is so intricately detailed I have to be in love with it. I adore how their symbol is in the middle of their suits, how the black mixes in with their ninja color, and how striking they look in it. With shoulder pads of deepstone, and within the season how they have to use stealth and skill to overcome the obstacles along the way, this gi gets to number two.

 

Nya (S7)

1.  Honor Robe

A very close tie with the Deepstone suits, this one deserves some admiration. This is a throwback of what we’ve seen in the series, with the simplicity and ropes tied to their symbol. There’s a little nostalgia in the mix, for all us fans who were from the beginning. I’m not sure if I need to say more for this to number one.

 

How do you feel about the suits in the series? Which ones do you like and which ones do you hate? Feel free to comment down below!

 

 

 

Leave a comment